Thursday, July 9, 2009

J.P. D'Mello Trophy (KIFF League) - 2008-09 Season

G.O.A Maroons champions of KIFF League - J.P. D’Mello Memorial Rolling Trophy for season 2008-2009

G.O.A Maroons won the KIFF League title for season 2008-2009 for the J.P. D’Mello Memorial Rolling Trophy in KIFF Silver Jubilee anniversary by defeating DHL Football Club in the final held on 19th June 2009 at the Salmiya Baladiya stadium, Kuwait.

The closing ceremony started with the march-past of all 18 Affiliates along with their escorts carrying respective club banners and followed by the KIFF President B.M. Viegas and the Guest of Honor Agustino Themudo. The players of both the finalists were introduced to all the Club Presidents and the Guest of Honour followed by the playing of Indian National anthem.

DHL Football Club were touted as favorites to win the title as they had stormed into the finals with a clean sheet from the qualifying round robin stage and also had the added advantage of beating GOA Maroons in the same group. But GOA Maroons with all their experience and will power were not to be daunted having won the league previously 2 times, since the inception of the KIFF league.
a href="">
The game started with DHL dominating the early stages of the first half, but could not get a breakthrough with GOA Maroons relying on counter attacks. Slowly and steadily GOA Maroons picked up the tempo and took the game in the rival’s half, but failed to sound the scoreboard. The first half ended goalless with neither team making a breakthrough.

The second half started lively with GOA Maroons heating up the proceedings with Kennedy and Stephen being a constant threat to DHL defense and in one such move Kennedy rocked the DHL crossbar with a rasping volley. DHL did counter attack, but their plan failed as most of the attacks were routed towards their star striker Andre who was totally off color. The normal time ended with neither team finding the back of the net.

The match went in to extra time without any score in the regulation period and both the teams were content to see the extra period off comfortably to proceed towards the dreaded tie-breaker. The tie-breaker too failed to break the deadlock and GOA Maroons came out victorious in the sudden death with their shot stopper Anthony saving DHL Vitorin's spot kick, to the much excitement and joy of GOA Maroons fans, supporters, players and officials. The final score-line read 5-4 in favour of GOA Maroons to lift the prestigious KIFF league trophy.

The game was played in a very sporting manner by both the teams and the credit goes to All India Football Federation (AIFF) and FIFA affiliated referee Franky Fernandes for keeping the things quiet on the field of play.

The presentation ceremony started with the KIFF President B.M. Viegas welcoming the Guest of Honour, Agustinho Themudo, a well Konkani stage artiste, Club Presidents and other dignitaries. The President thanked all the sponsors and the general public for making the 25 years celebration a memorable one. He also requested all those who can to locate the playing field for the next season and help the Federation to keep the game alive. Agostinho Themuda complimented the KIFF Managing Committee and the Federation for the effort in organising the football game in this part of the world and in doing so giving the expatriate community leisure time enjoyment.

Mementos were presented to all the 18 Affiliates by the KIFF President for keeping the game alive for the last 25 years. Mementos were also presented to GOA Maroons, YRC Rising Stars, Santos Football Club and United Goans' Center for completing 25 years in KIFF. Special mementos were presented to Franky Fernandes and AIFF for the goodwill gesture towards KIFF. The KIFF Managing Committee members were presented with plaques for their hard work and dedication in helping the federation to continue with the game.

The following prizes were awarded: KIFF League Champions Trophy: GOA Maroons presented by KIFF President and Guest of Honor. KIFF League Runners-up Trophy: DHL Football Club given away by KIFF Vice-President Xavier Furtado. Winners individual prizes handed over by KIFF Treasurer Shyam Kumar. Runners-up individual prizes given away by KIFF Asst. Sports Secretary P.A. Tony. Fair Play Trophy: GOA Maroons given away by KIFF Gen. Secretary Fidelis Fernandes. KIFF League Highest Scorer: Josse of KGA presented by KIFF Sports Secretary Derrick Gomindes. Best Player of the finals Vitorin of DHL presented by KIFF P.R.O Jack Fernandes. Mementos were also presented to all the KIFF affiliated referees by KIFF Registrar Michael Fernandes. Customary gold coin was presented by V.K. Vohra to the highest scorer of the KIFF League.

Special gift was given to KIFF Sports Secretary Derrick Gomindes by Tony Dias for his untiring efforts on the field. The federation also issued merit certificates to all the registered players with the federation. Special souvenirs marking the Silver Jubilee of KIFF were distributed on the ground.
In spite of the inclement weather it was very heartening to note that the finals were witnessed by a large holiday crowd. The whole ceremony and the match was conducted professionally by the KIFF Managing Committee in association with Julio Cardozo and termed by all present as the best ever conducted finals thereby making the Silver Jubilee function a very special and memorable one.

The federation takes this opportunity to thank all sponsors, well wishers, supporters, Arab Times, Kuwait Times,, Kranti-goa blog, Salmiya Baladia Ground Authorities, Kuwaiti Sports Center (Adnan), All India Football Federation (AIFF), Goa Football Association (GFA), American Logistics, and all others who have generously contributed in whatever way possible to make the KIFF SILVER JUBILEE CELEBRATION A GRAND, GRAND SUCCESS.

Following is the KIFF Managing Committee for the current season (2008-2009)
Blandino M. Viegas President
Xavier Furtado Vice-President
A.Fidelis Fernandes Gen. Secretary
Shyam Kumar Treasurer
Derrick Gomindes Sports Secretary
Michael Fernandes Registrar
P.A. Tony Asst. Sports Secretary
Jack Fernandes P.R.O
Bernardo Fernandes Executive Member

It may be noted that Kuwait Indian Football Federation, Kuwait (KIFF) is the only Indian expatriate organization in the whole of Middle East region which follows and conducts their matches under FIFA laws and regulations. It is also the only Indian expatriate organization in the Gulf region which has a fixed registration for players and officials every season and a Managing Committee elected every season by the house comprising of all registered affiliates, thereby making it a democratic body. KIFF is a registered body with the Embassy of India, Kuwait.

KIFF Gen. Secretary A.Fidelis Fernandes proposed the vote of thanks and also highlighted the efforts of late J.P. D’Melo towards KIFF.
The whole ceremony was compered and choreographed by Kuwait’s ace compere and crowd’s favorite Julio Cardozo and coordinated by Fidelis Fernandes. Goa Caterers managed by Bernardo Fernandes provided soothing refreshments to the crowd throughout the finals. The proceedings were caught on camera by Simon Dias and music entertainment by DJ Mario.

[This blog is the creative work of Gaspar Almeida,
Moderator, Gulf-Goans e-Newsletter (since 1994) and former Hon. Vice President
and General Secretary of Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF)]

Report & Photos sourced through KIFF.
(c) All rights.


Additional Input (see below):

No comments:

Post a Comment